Cosmic Origins Program Analysis Group (COPAG)

NOTE: The COPAG is an analysis arm of the Astrophysics Subcommittee of the NAC Science Committee. The COR Program Office maintains the web page as a service to the community.

Decadal Survey Planning Activities


The Cosmic Origins Program Analysis Group (COPAG) is constituted by the NASA Astrophysics Subcommittee (ApS) to support community coordination and analysis of scientific and technological issues impacting NASA's Cosmic Origins (COR) Program (COPAG Charter). In the past, the COPAG has supported analysis of technological priorities for potential future Cosmic Origins strategic missions, organized workshops on future missions' science goals, constituted Science Analysis Groups to identify ways to maximize COR science returns from future missions such as JWST and WFIRST, and explored ways for the US science community to pursue Spica-like science. The COPAG organizes open meetings and workshops for science community members.

All COPAG substantive activities—meetings, workshops, Science Analysis Groups, Science Interest Groups, telecons, or other core work—are open to participation by the community. The COPAG is coordinated by an Executive Committee, which meets biweekly by telecon.

Executive Committee

  • COPAG Executive Committee Selections, November 2015 [PDF]
 Start DateInstitution
Paul Scowen
November 2015– October 2018Arizona State University
Lee ArmusNovember 2015– October 2018Caltech
Daniela CalzettiDecember 2013– November 2016University of Massachusetts
Dennis EbbettsDecember 2013– November 2016Ball Aerospace
Suvi GezariNovember 2015– October 2018University of Maryland
James GreenDecember 2013– November 2016University of Colorado
Matt GreenhouseFebruary 2015– January 2018NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center
Sara HeapDecember 2013– November 2016NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center
Chris HowkNovember 2015– October 2018University of Notre Dame
Mary Elizabeth KaiserNovember 2014– October 2017Johns Hopkins
Joseph LazioNovember 2014– October 2017NASA/JPL
Pam MarcumNovember 2014– October 2017NASA/Ames
Mario Perez (Executive Secretary, Ex-Officio)NASA HQ
Kartik Sheth (Ex-Officio)NASA HQ
Susan Neff (COR Program Office, Ex-Officio)NASA/GSFC
Deborah Padgett (COR Program Office, Ex-Officio)NASA/GSFC
Former Members
Michael Garcia
Kenneth Sembach
(Former Chair)
September 2010– November 2015Space Telescope Science Institute
Lynne HillenbrandOctober 2011– October 2015Caltech
James LowenthalMarch 2012–
March 2015
Smith College
Paul ScowenDecember 2011–
December 2014
Arizona State University
David LeisawitzOctober 2011– February 2015NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center
Julianne DalcantonOctober 2011–
September 2014
University of Washington
Dominic Benford
(COR Program Office, Ex-Officio)
August 2011–
September 2013
Jonathan GardnerSeptember 2010–
November 2013
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center
Paul GoldsmithSeptember 2010–
November 2013
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Charles LillieSeptember 2010–
November 2013
Northrop Grumman
Chris Martin
(Former Chair)
September 2010–
July 2013
California Institute of Technology

COPAG Science Analysis Groups and Science Interest Groups

The COPAG uses Science Analysis Groups (SAGs) for topical consideration of COR-relevant science and technology issues. Membership of the SAGs is freely open to any interested parties. Each SAG and SIG coordinates with the EC through a member selected from the Executive Committee.

Currently the COPAG has five active Science Analysis Groups:

Currently the COPAG has three Science Interest Groups:

COPAG Meetings

Upcoming Meetings

  • COPAG Meetings at AAS, Kissimmee, Florida, 4 January 2016
    • Monday, January 4, 2015
      (More details to be provided closer to meeting time)

      • 8:00 AM - 12:00 Noon - UV/Vis Science Interest Group
      • 9:00 AM - 12:00 Noon - Cosmic Dawn Science Interest Group [Draft Schedule]

      • 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - Joint PAG session with Paul Hertz (State of Astrophysics Division, Flagship Mission Studies, ?Probe-Class missions?)

      • 2:30 PM - 5:00 PM - Joint COPAG / ExoPAG meeting

      • 5:00 PM -8:00 PM - Far-Infrared Science Interest Group

Past Meetings

Useful Information/Links


Mario Perez
HQ Cosmic Origins Program, Program Scientist

Kartik Sheth
HQ Cosmic Origins Program, Deputy Program Scientist

Susan Neff
Cosmic Origins Program Office, Chief Scientist

Deborah Padgett
Cosmic Origins Program Office, Deputy Chief Scientist

Program News

13 Nov 2015
New! COPAG Executive Committee Selections November 2015 »  [PDF]
5 Oct 2015
Final COPAG Response to Paul Hertz, October 8, 2015 now available »  [PDF]
1 Oct 2015
2015 COR Program Annual Technology Report (PATR) now available »  [PDF]
1 Sep 2015
COR Newsletter for September 2015 now available »  [PDF]

Project News

Hubble News
13 Nov 2015
Hubble Uncovers Fading Cinders of Some of Our Galaxy's Earliest Homesteaders » Details
Spitzer News
10 Sep 2015
NASA Telescopes Find Galaxy Cluster with Vibrant Heart » Details
Herschel News
17 Jun 2013
Herschel Decommissioned » Details